Warning message

• Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.
  • Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.

Urgent Help Needed for WVC210 camera setup :)

Unanswered Question
Nov 2nd, 2011
User Badges:

Please help!  I am trying to set up a Cisco WVC210 surveilance camera at one of the stores owned by the company I work for.  Its a small business and I am the closest they have to an I.T person !! I have plenty of experience with software but not much on networking so need some idiot proof guidance !   The "administrative guide" is not worth the paper it is printed on!!

The store has a fixed IP address of 212.9.##.### I connected the camera using ethernet cable.  Set the camera up using the software for the camera, with static ip address of 192.168.0.23.  Set the SSID of the camera to that of the router (a Netgear one).  It worked fine.  I went to unplug so I could have it wireless and NOTHING !!  It did work one time (no idea what i did differently!) but it would not work over the internet which is what we need it to do!  I need the whole thing password protected too! 

Is there ANYONE who can help me please???  I am at the point of running away from my work and never returning !!!! :s

Thank you

Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
mpyhala Wed, 11/02/2011 - 12:57
User Badges:
  • Gold, 750 points or more

Hi Jodie,

Thank you for posting. In order to make the camera connect wirelessly, first set up the wireless settings in the camera to match the router. I usually open the router configuration page and copy and paste the SSID and Security Passphrase to the camera to avoid error. The next step is to unplug the ethernet cable and power cord from the camera. Then plug only the power back in and the camera should connect wirelessly.