Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5520: Configuring Active/Standby High Availability

dan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to Cisco firewalls. We are moving from a different vendor to Cisco ASA 5520s.

I have two ASA 5520s running ASA 8.2(5). I am managing them with ASDM 6.4(5).

I am trying to setup Active/Standby using the High Availability Wizard. I have interfaces on each device setup with just an IP address and subnet mask. Primary is 10.1.70.1/24 and secondary is 10.1.70.2/24. The interfaces are connected to a switch and these interfaces are the only nodes on this switch. When I run the Wizard on the primary, configure for Active/Standby, enter the peer IP of 10.1.70.2 and I get an error message saying that the peer test failed, followed by an error saying ASDM is temporarily unable to connect to the firewall.

I tried this using a crossover cable to connect the interfaces directly with the same result.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Dan

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi Dan,

To clear the configuration for failover you can use this command:

clear configure failover

this shoudl work for you.

Thanks,

Varun

Thanks,
Varun Rao

View solution in original post

The command Varun is right.

Since you want to know a little bit more about this stuff, here goes a bit. Every interface will have a secondary IP and a Primary IP where the Active/Standby pair will exchange hello packes. If the hellos are not heard from mate, the the unit is delcare failed.

In case the primary is the one that gets an interface down, it will failover to the other unit, if it is the standby that has the problem, the active unit will declare the other Unit "standby failed). You will know that everything is alright when you do a show failover and the standby pair shows "Standby Ready".