×

Warning message

  • Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.
  • Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.

Cisco Unified Call Manager 7.1.X

Answered Question
Nov 4th, 2011
User Badges:

Can anyone please help me to understand the exact difference between 'Reset' and 'Apply config' button on the CUCM 7.1.5 and which should be the correct button which applies to phone, gateway and gatekeepers.

Correct Answer by michael-luo about 5 years 9 months ago

Well, it takes a llittle bit to explain.


In previous versions of CUCM, they only have "Save" button on the admin page.  As the name indicated, "Save" button saves configuration into database (hard disk).


However, saving configuraton to hard disk may or may not have immediate effect on the system functions.  That's because most processes (programs) making decisions based on the data in computer memory (RAM).


Changing the data on hard drive does not necessary update the memory immeditately.  There's a mechanism called "Change Notification" to ensure the update.  The "Apply Config" button is a manual method to make changes take effect immediately.


Guess it's as clear as mud? 


Michael

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (2 ratings)
Loading.
michael-luo Fri, 11/04/2011 - 06:11
User Badges:

"Reset" means power off / power on the device.  For IP phones, they'll go through the IP address allocation, firmware verification process.


"Apply config" does not trigger the above process.


Michael

Feroz_1600 Fri, 11/04/2011 - 06:15
User Badges:

Thanks for your reply Mike. So what is the exact function of Apply config button and in which situation/cases it should be used.

Correct Answer
michael-luo Fri, 11/04/2011 - 06:29
User Badges:

Well, it takes a llittle bit to explain.


In previous versions of CUCM, they only have "Save" button on the admin page.  As the name indicated, "Save" button saves configuration into database (hard disk).


However, saving configuraton to hard disk may or may not have immediate effect on the system functions.  That's because most processes (programs) making decisions based on the data in computer memory (RAM).


Changing the data on hard drive does not necessary update the memory immeditately.  There's a mechanism called "Change Notification" to ensure the update.  The "Apply Config" button is a manual method to make changes take effect immediately.


Guess it's as clear as mud? 


Michael

Rob Huffman Fri, 11/04/2011 - 06:41
User Badges:
  • Super Red, 40000 points or more
  • Hall of Fame,

    Founding Member

  • Cisco Designated VIP,

    2017 IP Telephony, Unified Communications

Hey Michael,


Great explanation here! You really made this process as clear as

any I've heard. (+5)


Cheers!

Rob

Actions

This Discussion

Related Content