Logging level differences,,,

Unanswered Question
Dec 2nd, 2011

Hi, im student who studying ASA ,

and I just wondering about the differences between each logging level ( 0 - 7) informational, debugging, etc.

I was trying to find some of the information and explanation through google, but it was not detail,

when using a command "show logging" what is the role of each logging features? and what is the differences between all of those,

thanks in advance, !

I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Average Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
yemasin90 Fri, 12/02/2011 - 22:42

thank you~! , but Ive seen this before and I was looking for more detail stuff,

such as , "what is the outcome, when you configure as informational, or debugging and what is the differences between those two, and limitation" .

but thanks alot !

Julio Carvaja Sat, 12/03/2011 - 11:50

Hello Terry,

Well the difference between Syslog levels is the events they are going to log, for example lets say so want to log the failover events, for this  you will need to have at least the error level being logged because if you are  using a lower logging level this  will not publish those events, same thing happens with the logging and debugging levels, so if you use the debugging level witch is the # 7 you will be loggin everything that happens around your ASA,  that is why it is common to hear  that you may have high CPU when you use the debug level.

Hope this helps,

Please rate helpful posts.



Login or Register to take actions

This Discussion

Posted December 2, 2011 at 10:12 PM
Replies:3 Avg. Rating:
Views:1456 Votes:0
Tags: syslog, asa, logging, log

Related Content

Discussions Leaderboard

Rank Username Points
1 7,861
2 6,140
3 3,170
4 1,473
5 1,446