Views
Helpful
Replies

ARP Table & VLANs on a Catalyst Switch

joemis
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to VLANs on Cisco gear.

I need the command to display the ARP table for my VLANs. When I use the "sh arp" or "sh ip arp" all I see are the ARP entries for my switch - none of my devices appear. When I try to add the "Vlan" parameter as the "sh ip arp ?" indicates the switch tries to resolve "Vlan" and then does nothing. Thus:

18W-ACC1>sh ip arp

Protocol  Address          Age (min)  Hardware Addr   Type   Interface

Internet  172.17.253.2            -   58bc.27d8.f541  ARPA   Vlan253

Internet  172.17.253.254        172   0000.0c07.acfd  ARPA   Vlan253

18W-ACC1>sh ip arp Vlan3

Translating "Vlan3"...domain server (255.255.255.255)

^

% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

18W-ACC1>sh ip arp Vlan 3

Translating "Vlan"...domain server (255.255.255.255)

^

% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

How can I display the mac addresses of devies on my networks?

Thanks,

Joe

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Joe has not told us whether this network is all in the same VLAN/same subnet or whether it is in several VLANs/several subnets.

The suggestion from Alain will work is the destination is in the same subnet as the management interface of the switch. But if the destination is in a different subnet then the switch will arp for its default gateway and the destination will not be in the switch arp table.

If this network is in several subnets then what Joe needs to do is to go to the layer 3 device that is routing between the subnets and do the show arp on that device. This is where he will find the MAC that is associated with the device. And once he finds the MAC in the ARP table then he may need to use show mac address-table to find the switch and the switch port where it is connected.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

cadet alain
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,