Helpful
Replies

line-rate, latency, enterprise edge

flokki123
Level 3
Level 3

hi,

i have 3 questions.

i read that the line rate is the speed of all ports sending traffic at the same time, full-duplex, at the maximum speed of the interface.

would that mean if i talk about the line-rate of a switch (e.g. 24 port switch gigabit) the line rate would be 48 Gbit?

or if i want to switch or route at line speed that the switch would at leat 48gbit of througput?

can someone explain the term "latency" in regards to networking. had a look on the internet but couldnt find helpful stuff.

i have read that e.g. nexus switche have a lower latency than e.g. catalyst switches, but still both can switch non-blocking.

i know that e.g voice traffic is latency dependent, but what does that mean?

i started studying for the ccnp and read the ccnp switch book from richard froom.

the book says that there are 5 - 6 parts of a enterprise network(campus, core, data center, internet edge, wan/branch and teleworker)

but then suddenly mentions the "client-enterprise edge appliations" . according to the book these applications use servers on the "enterprise edge".

is the "enterprise edge" interchangeable with "internet edge"?

thanks for any help!

florian

5 Replies 5

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The     Author of this posting offers the information contained within this     posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding  that    there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any   purpose.   Information provided is for informational purposes only and   should not   be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind.   Usage of  this  posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer