cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

1.5 mile AP to WGB connection questions

bcanon73644
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all.  I am new to the forum and have just enough networking skills to be dangerous. A+ and Net+ Certs in 2000.  Self taught on my AP's and I am now finally to the point that I need help.  Bare with me.

I have 2 Cisco 1200 G AP's connecting 2 different locations.  Location A ( La ) I have a RVO82 router connected to a 50Mbit cable connection.  I have an AP setup there using a 1 Watt booster and a 24db wire grid directional antenna. Only one antenna here, the other disabled. 

At Location B  (Lb ), about 1.5 miles away, with good to excellent line of site, i have the other setup as a WGB with a 15db wire grid directional antenna with a 1 Watt booster.  Also only one antenna here, the other disabled.

WGB feeds a simple 8 port switch and in that switch i have a simple belkin wireless router setup as an AP for Lb's wireless access, which is the most used segment.  (i will usually take all the freebies i can get, lol)

The signal strenght between the two locations is -49 to -52 db, depending on what time of day I check it.

I have had this setup for a couple of years now.  I recently switched from a 3Mbit DSL connection to the 50Mbit cable connection hoping to increase my bandwidth with no luck.

When I first set this up i had a 6Mbit cable connection and it maxxed out at 5 Mbit at Lb.  I thought i would be able to add more boosters and antennas as time went on to go from half duplex to full duplex (the way i think of it is one antenna receiving and the other sending, at both locations) so that when our ISP had faster rates available, i could upgrade. I recently read somewhere on the net that it is not possible to run full duplex in the AP to WGB setup i have.  Is that true?