cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

No signal broadcast

Jeremy Phillips
Level 1
Level 1

I have a lot of cisco 1231G APs in our school district.  Recently they were having issues with the signals in some areas.  Now when we try to test to see if there is a signal it keeps fading in and out.  Sometimes there is no signal there.  Our APs are 7 years old and we don't have any type of support for them.  The version we are on is:

C1200 Software (C1200-K9W7-M), Version 12.3(4)JA2, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

I have only been with this district full time for a few months and it seems this is happening all over.  I did find one that has never been used and put it into a classroom to where it does not need to go through the block walls and that one seems to be working fine.

Because I am new to this district and the only one to support the wireless I need to get a second opinion on this.

Thanks for your help.

19 Replies 19

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Now when we try to test to see if there is a signal it keeps fading in and out.  Sometimes there is no signal there.

What methodologies did you use to test the wireless signal propagation?

Can you telnet/ssh or even console into the WAPs and check if there are any interfaces that are down or NOT up/up?

Can you inspect the WAPs to make sure there is at least one (1) or two (2) antennas?

I have a program on my laptop that detects ssid and tells you what the dbm is and what channel the ssid is broadcasting on.  I can telnet into them, console in, and web interface with them.  They do show the ethernet and the radio interfaces are up and up.

As far as inspecting the WAPs for one or two antennas, if you are referring to physicaly they all have two antennas.  If you are referring to if one antenna is working only or if the actual antennas are bad I have not checked that.

If you are referring to if one antenna is working only or if the actual antennas are bad I have not checked that.

Check that first.