Views
Helpful
Replies

Upgrading CUCM 8.5.1 to 8.6.2 questions

NoelNesbitt
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All

I have had a rootle on the forum & support pages and managed to answer some of my questions but if anyone can give me some advice on the following I would be most grateful. I am about to upgrade a CUCM from 8.5.1.13900-5 to 8.6.2.21900-5. And it is my first time doing it.

I have read as much as I can and prepped the CUCM as much as I am able to without anything going drastically wrong but before I commit I have some questions.

•a)      License File. If I am doing an upgrade do I need to re-install/install a new LIC file. According to the system there is a LIC file installed already for “INCREMENT SW_FEATURE cisco 8.0 permanent uncounted”. As we are already on 8.5 on the active partition I am assuming the upgrade will recognise the LIC file already in place and not require a new one – or is my assumption wrong?

•b)       If I do need a new LIC who can I email to get one re-issued? We are not changing the hardware at this time.

•c)       My inactive partion is currently 8.0. If I install 8.6 to this partition will it wipe out the lic file that way?

•d)      How can you tell wether the current software is RESTRICTED or UNRESTRICTED version?

•e)      COP File/Server restart. In the various documents regarding installing the file ciscocm.refresh_upgrade_v1.0.cop.sgn it recommeds restarting the CUCM. Is this a restart of the CallMgr “Service” – a soft restart type thing  or a full reboot of the physical hardware i.e. like a restart via the CLI screen.

Even if it is pointing me in the direction of a doc/web page I have not yet read your advice would be appreciated.

Kind regards

10 Replies 10

Gajanan Pande
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Becky,

I can answer queries b,d & e.

B. licensing@cisco.com is the mailer to mail. You can alternatively approach Cisco TAC too.