Views
Helpful
Replies

Connect a 3560G to a linksys E4200

martgombert
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm a bit new to Cisco, it's been 7 years ago that I passed my CCNA. I'm setting up a new network at my home and can't get it working.

I have a Linksys E4200 that is connected to the internet.

I have a Cisco 3560G-48TS for my virtualisation project.

On this 3560 I have made some VLAN's for the vSphere environment, when I make a trunk to the dvSwitch I can ping the default gateway and the other hosts on the same VLAN but can't connect to the internet.

Port Gi0/3 is connected to the E4200, now I have internet on all PC's in VLAN1. If I switch the cable to port Gi0/1 the internet connection is gone for all PC's.

Also I can't reach the switch by IP 192.168.1.2.

I hope somebody can help.

See the running config attached.

Some extra info:

IP-address of the E4200: 192.168.1.1

IP-address of Gi0/1: 192.168.1.2

Thanks!

14 Replies 14

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi

Since you are using vlan 1 with g0/3 interface and everything works fine can you make sure g0/1 is also in vlan 1?

By default all ports are in vlan 1 until you put them in a different vlan

HTH

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

Mehdidz
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I'd move the g0/1 config to vlan 1 inteface

( are you using DHCP for the subnets other than 192.168.1.x?  for vlan 1 I guess that the  E4200 is the server ?

if you are using static IP assignement make sure to have the correct default gateway which is the correspending SVI ?

regards

Mehdi

martgombert
Level 1
Level 1

I didn't change the VLAN of port g0/1. I now changed VLAN1 to this:

interface Vlan1

description Link naar E4200 (router)

ip address 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0

And maked g0/1 default. Still no internet on the other VLAN's.

I use the E4200 for DHCP on 192.168.1.x and wanna use my Synology for DHCP on the other subnets, but thats for later...

Can you post the output of

Sh ip int bri vla1?

Also