Advice on Products Required to Implement DWDM

Unanswered Question
May 10th, 2012

Hi, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to optical networking and would appreciate a little background and product selection advice please.

The requirement I have is thus:-

I currently have 10 dark fibre pairs available to me which are used for several separate GbEthernet and fibre channel connections.  Going forward the plan is to reduce the number of fibre pairs available, potentially down to just a single pair which would by clever use of optical technologies still provide us with the necessary number of communication channels / bandwidth.

Is this relatively easy to implement?  If so I would be very grateful for some detail on what equipment I would need to purchase to achieve this.

I'm assuming some kind of Mux either end coupled with the necessary modules to connect both over the dark fibre and to the LAN/FC equipment would do the job but I may be wrong? 

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Average Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
davemiddlewick Thu, 05/10/2012 - 12:21

Thanks Ryan

Distance between sites is approx 3-4 km.  I did have a quick look at the thread you posted on but a lot of it was lost on me, I'm hoping the setup I need to implement will be somewhat simpler given that it's on a smaller scale.

Appreciate you're not here to provide training for me but any additional basic guidance on what's required in a simple DWDM setup would be gratefully received.

Cheers

Dave

rgadwood Thu, 05/10/2012 - 16:49

Dave,

Here is a link to a cisco Introduction to DWDM  technology pdf which is a really good read to get you started into DWDM  technologies.

http://www.cisco.com/application/pdf/en/us/guest/products/ps2011/c2001/ccmigration_09186a00802342cf.pdf