Views
Helpful
Replies

Multiple Client Profiles with AnyConnect

GRWilkerson
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have the need to store more than one VPN profile on my anyconnect client.  I am a consultant and have mulitple clients using AnyConnect.  The old VPN client used pcf files.  From what I've been about to gather, an XML file can be used to simulate this same function.  I tried to work with that, but had no luck.  The preferences file gets overwritten with that last successful connection. 

Can anyone help me out with this?  Please keep in mind, from a VPN standpoint, I'm just a user. Not an admin.  Quite honestly, I'm not even sure what to ask.  I just want this AnyConnect client to display all my VPN connections like the old one.

Thanks,

Greg

19 Replies 19

maharri2
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Is there somethign I need to do to triger the recongnition of new profiles? I placed them in the Profile directory OK.

For the first profile I used a few weeks ago, it wasn't showing up. Then after a few days and PC restarts, suddenly the profile surprised me and showed up which I wasn't expecting as it hadn't changed anything ...... and from there on, it worked great.

This now happening again. I can see the orginal profile still and it works, but I can't see in the drop down the 2 new ones I just placed in the directory today.

What is the trick to getting Anyconnect to see recently added profiles and adding them to the dropdown?

sayrmatics
Level 1
Level 1

The more i think about it, the messier it appears. As you are not the admin and also need to connect to different customer VPN gateways, i can foresee a situation where user controllable attributes set on the different VPN gateways keep overwriting whatever you get or configure personally - and rightly so. There is also the issue of what happens if you've got an old client and the ASA is configured to update your client if it has a more recent version?