Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ONS 15454 Configuartion

adhillon1982
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I  have two Cisco ONS 15454 , CTC Version: 8.5 & i have to configure  the setup for DWDM testing .Can anyone let me know following:-

1. How to connect two Cisco ONS 15454?

2. Steps to configure the Cisco ONS 15454 for DWDM?

3. How to connect/configure brocade 5100 8Gbps FC switch?

Connectivity Flow:

Brocade 5100 ->Cisco ONS 15454 Node A ->Cisco ONS 15454 Node B ->Brocade 5100

Since I am very new in configurating the CISCO product , any help is highly appreciated.

Thanks

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Amardeep,

Looks like you have a 2 channel Terminal MSTP system here. Do you have the CTP file that designed this network? You'll need to get the internal patchcords out of the CTP file and fiber the cards up per the design file. After that is done you'll need to extract the .xml file from the CTP file and load it into the node. After it is loaded in the node you can launch ANS. Then you can turn up the OSC channels(provisioning/comm channels). Do this for both nodes. If everything is done correctly you should see a green line between the nodes in your CTC view. Let me know when you get to this point and the rest should be fairly easy. If you have any questions let me know. The key is to have the CTP design file to get started in the right direction. Hope this gets you started.

Ryan

View solution in original post

Here you go, I've created the network for you in CTP using REL8.5 and the cards shown in your snapshots above, I've used a loss of 10dB between the nodes but the expected span loss can be between 10 and 15dB so just insert an attenuator.

When you import the NEUpdate file you can accept the import parameters because the cards are also in the same place as shown in your snap shots.

Not promising anything but it may save you having to learn how to design the network in CTP especially as you would have to manually force the selection of the right cards.