Views
Helpful
Replies

WAAS software upggrade

Mohit Chauhan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

I am new to the WAAS world and getting little confused with its terminlogy.

When we look into different models (some are appliance based, some are modules).

I was going thru the below link about WAAS appliances:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/contnetw/ps5680/ps6474/data_sheet_c78-495801.html

and did not see any mention about the appliance WAVE-694, instead the closest it was showing was WAE-674. (Whats the difference between WAE and WAVE appliances and why WAVE 694 wasnt showing up in the list?)

Second thing, I also have WAVE-274 which I wanted to upgrade. While i was reading thru the config giude, it said there are two types of files, universal and accelarator only (both bin files). and i could understand the difference between the two.

However, when i was looking at this WAVE-274 console and did show version, the output was as follows (it wasnt showing the file type anywhere, like it usually does on IOS devices for eg "/flash/filename.bin":

COHO-WM-01#show ver

Cisco Wide Area Application Services Software (WAAS)

Copyright (c) 1999-2012 by Cisco Systems, Inc.

Cisco Wide Area Application Services (universal-k9) Software Release 4.4.5 (buil

d b5 Feb  4 2012)

Version: oe274-4.4.5.5

Also when do back up of the config, using "cms database backup" likewise whats the way to back up the image onto the ftp server??

Nest thing, when i went to download software page on cisco website, under the latest 4.4.5c, I could see so  many different files, like

32 bit system image, 64 bit system image,SM/SRE install zip file and many more along with the normal universal and accelerator binary images. So my question was when will i need to use the 32 or 64 but system file, also how would i know that for eg, WAVE 274 is 32 or 64 bit?