Views
Helpful
Replies

Need advice of QoS config before implementation

Cory Dryden
Level 1
Level 1

Hi team,

I am going to be implementing some QoS across the network of the company I work for. I am no expert in it but have come up with the following, but would love it if some more experienced professionals could look over it before I implement it.

What am I trying to achieve? Simple, we have a 20mbps link and I want 50% to always be used for our SAN traffic that is being backed up to another site and then after hours and weekends, this goes up to 70% and 80% respectively.

We have video conferencing so I want that to always go first. The LAN is setup and the switches are tagging DSCP values to the video and SAN traffic.

With the Policy map SHAPE_TRAFFIC, I am not sure which one to use. Thanks in advance.

class-map match-aLL VIDEO_QoS

match  dscp cs5

class-map match-aLL SAN_REPLICATION

match  dscp cs1

policy-map QoS_POLICY

class VIDEO_QoS

priority percent 10

class SAN_REPLICATION

priority percent 50                 

policy-map SAN_AFTERHOURS

class SAN_REPLICATION

priority percent 70

ip access-list SAN_AFTERHOURS

policy-map SAN_WEEKENDS

class SAN_REPLICATION

priority percent 80

ip access-list SAN_WEEKENDS

Policy map SHAPE_TRAFFIC

Class class-default

shape average 20000000

service policy QoS_POLICY

service policy SAN_AFTERHOURS

service policy SAN_WEEKENDS

OR

Policy map SHAPE_TRAFFIC

Class SHAPE_TRAFFIC

Shape average 2000000

service policy SAN_AFTERHOURS

service policy SAN_WEEKENDS

Class class-default

Fair-queue

ip access-list extended SAN_AFTERHOURS

permit ip any any time-range SAN_REPLICATION_WEEKDAYS

ip access-list extended SAN_WEEKENDS

permit ip any any time-range SAN_REPLICATION_WEEKENDS

time-range SAN_REPLICATION_WEEKDAYS

periodic weekdays 17:30 to 23:59

periodic weekdays 00:00 to 07:00

time-range SAN_REPLICATION_WEEKENDS

periodic weekend 00:00 to 23:59

7 Replies 7

David Salazar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,