cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SG 300-10 and SF 300-08 dropping configuration after reboot

nikolasrock83
Level 1
Level 1

My company uses the SG 300-10 and SF 300-08 switches to deliver services to our customers. We have been using the upgraded firmware version 1.1.2.0. Our normal procedure is to configure the switches in house and upgrade the firmware before sending them out to the customers. The configurations are confirmed in house after the new firmware has been loaded. Recently we have had several of these switches lose the Vlan configuration that we setup. These incidents have occurred after power outages and scheduled reboots. We do not generally have to reboot our customer switches. But we would like to know if this is a known error and if they are any recommended fixes?

11 Replies 11

davidagu
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Nikolas,

My name is David, and I am an engineer with the Cisco Small Business Support Center. Thank you for writing.

Do you know if you saved the configuration on the switch? When you make changes to the configuration, the settings go into the running-config file. In order for these changes to be preserved across reboots, they must be copied to the startup-config file. You can do this by going to Administration>File Management>Copy/Save Configuration.

If this has already been done, I would try reflashing the firmware image with the latest version. If you still have problems, don't hesitate to give us a call at 1-866-606-1866. We will be happy to assist you further.

Hey David,

Yes, we ensure that the configurations are saved before we reboot. Is there a firmware version later than the 1.1.2.0? We have rebooted other switches with the upgraded firmware and they work fine. We have just noticed this issue with a few of our customer switches. If it persists we won't hesitate to contact you. Thanks

Nikolas,

The newest firmware is 1.2.5:  Software Download Center

David: Nice to see you on here!

Best,
David

Nikolas,