LSI 1064E with mixed SAS and SATA disk on C200

Unanswered Question
Jun 29th, 2012

Hello,

we have LSI 1064E RAID controller with one SAS disk and everything is working fine with this configuration.

Now I want to add a SATA disk and VMWare is not recognizing it. I found out on the link below that with this controller a mix of SAS and SATA is not supported.

"You cannot mix SAS and SATA drives when using a 1064E-based controller."

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/unified_computing/ucs/c/hw/C200M1/install/RAID.html

OK, this is clear for me. But is there an another way to use a mix of SAS and SATA disks? I tried to disconnect the cable that is going from the RAID controller to the HDD bay of the SATA disk but it is still the same.

I have this in BIOS under mass storage

I hope that someone has an idea how to use the SATA disk too on the same server.

p.s. I am a server noob, sorry.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Average Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
padramas Fri, 06/29/2012 - 04:34

Hello,

When you remove the cable from LSI 1064E RAID controller, are you connecting it with onboard RAID controller ICH10R ?

If yes, ESX/ESXi does not support ICH10R.

Padma

smailmilak Fri, 06/29/2012 - 05:49

O stupid me, I thought that it is already somehow connected via the mainboard and only for RAID are special cables needed.

I checked on our second UCS where we have SATA disks only and there is a cable.

Great, now I need only a cable. Do you now the product number or is any SATA cable good?

smailmilak Fri, 06/29/2012 - 06:04

The second server does not have any RAID config and I do not need/want it. There are just two disks which are independent from each other.

On the new server I have a SAS disk which need a RAID controller in order to work, and this is ok. The SAS disk is working without any RAID configuration, just plug & play. I only want to add a SATA disk as second datastore on VMWare.