cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can the RV042 Access the Internet

rgoeken11
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to implementing VPN service.  What I would like to do is  install a RV042 or RV082 (for added speed) and configure it to allow me  to access the Internet (from home base) through the VPN from any  location  while on the road and using my laptop.  My questions are: Can this be  done?  If so, what needs to be done in the configuration to allow gateway  access to the Internet? I can't find any reference in the Cicso  documents, but somewhere I saw that it can be done.  I don't care about  accessing anything on the local LAN.  As I would be using the same  Internet connection for the VPN and the access to get out----how would  this affect speed?  I plan to use Quick VPN as the client, and haven't  even touched the client issue.  Any pointers would be greatly  appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Richard,

The RV0XX routers support a client to gateway solution via PPTP or IPsec. Either connection will give local access to the network you're connecting to.

However, if your goal is to connect to a remote router then use the internet as if you were local to the router. This is not going to work.

Example:

Robert - 75.75.75.75   ---------------VPN TUNNEL-------------RV0XX 76.76.76.76------> INTERNET

If you connect to the RV0XX router using a PPTP or QVPN connection, your internet connection will continue to use your IP of 75.75.75.75. You will not be able to have your external IP showing as 76.76.76.76.  However, the local access to the RV0XX to the router is permitted.

If you are looking to have VPN access to a router and have your internet IP show as if you're using the remote router locally, you need a full tunnel VPN solution.  The RV220W router will support this with 5 SSL vpn seats (for free).

-Tom Please mark answered for helpful posts http://blogs.cisco.com/smallbusiness/

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Tom Watts
VIP Alumni