cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Jabber vs Lync

alialjamri2008
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Jabber, can you help me identify the differences and the advantages over the Lync.

Thanks,
Ali

17 Replies 17

bill.efthimiou
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Ali,

I do not claim to know Lync very well at all. I spend a great deal of my time with video testing. My understanding is as follows (correct me if i am wrong):

Lync (Microsoft) places a greater emphasis on proprietary protocols, such as RT-audio and RT-video. There is a lack of support for the high fidelity "standards" based audio and video codecs. This is no problem if all you expect is to make a call to another Lync client. But it's a massive problem if you have a requirement for video beyond the enterprise, unless of course, it's yet another Lync environment.

Lync Wave 15 (or whatever the next release is called) is suppose to make available H.264-SVC. However, I'm afraid this too is not standards based, creating yet another island.

So if you expect to be able to call another standards based system (Cisco, Asterisk, Avaya, Polycom, pretty much any open-source platforms, etc), then you should expect to connecting with audio using G.711 and at best video using H.263 base, if your lucky enough for the endpoint to support such an old, poor performing codec.

Microsoft has licened it's RT-audio and RT-video codecs to Polycom. So you can buy an additional license to install a plug-in on Polycom MCUs (and I believe other endpoints). So you can use the MCU as a meeting point to connect to other systems. But that's hardly an efficient use of a very expensive hardware resource, when all you want to do is a point to point call.

There is a new video codec called H.265 going through the standards process at the moment, which is based H.264-SVC. Until then, it's a closed/proprietary protocol.

Jabber is standards compliant. We use it to call all sorts of multivendor equipment, including all the above.

I hope this helps.

Regards,

Bill.