Helpful
Replies

ISE and Guest Portal

b.gamble
Level 1
Level 1

WLC - 7.2.110.0

ISE - 1.1.1

I'm new to ISE. I want to set up a very basic method for BYOD users to access our wireless network. I've set up an SSID for external Web Auth, where users get redirected to the ISE Guest Portal: https://1.2.3.4:8443/guestportal/Login.action

At that screen, users can enter their Active Directory credentials and login. Although the authentcation shows as successful under Operations -> Authentications, the user is redirected to the device registration page. On that page they see the message "We are unable to determine access privileges in order to access the network. Please contact your administrator." Their device MAC is listed, and they can enter a description but the "Register" button is greyed out.

I'm getting overwhelmed with the amount of documentation available as well as the new terminology. I'm familiar with using Windows RADIUS servers, but ISE is very foreign to me now. Is there any documentation to help me understand how access requests are processed?

11 Replies 11

Tarik Admani
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Are you seeing the coa request being sent from the ISE to the wireless controller? If so, it could be that the guest is hitting another authorization profile which redirects them to the device registration page.

Can you post a screenshot of your authorization rules.

Thanks,

Tarik Admani
*Please rate helpful posts*

As far as I can tell there is no Authorization Profile being returned. I only have one authorization profile in addition to the defaults. This profile just checks AD group membership.

Sounds good, you will have to create another authorization profile that matches the guest identity group. That result should be permit access. See if that changes your luck.

Tarik Admani

Forgive me for sounding obtuse, but how does one do that?