cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP121 Mounting

Terp84Alum
Level 1
Level 1

In the marketing info, the unit is shown wall mounted. Right now, I have 2 WRT54Gs wall mounted and I have always suspected that the wall mounting was the cause of poor coverage. The Linksys has omni directional antennas while the WAP21 has directional PIFA antennas. What is the optimal mounting location? I was going to go with Unifi ceiling mount APs but after participating in the support forums, its obvious that they have their own set of problems.

So, now I'm back to Cisco since I've been using Linksys for many years (I used to be a Linksys partner) and am very familiar with configuration. But honestly, I've never been able to get good consistent coverage. Plus, the WRT54Gs keep dropping off the network requiring reboot. Thoughts?

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPad App

Ken
2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Here is a 3d image. The area around the AP will not be optimal. The gain above and below will have a good RSSI and outward from the AP as the peanut shape expands the coverage will broaden.

I cannot give definitive coverage numbers. However, I would estimate the product will cover a 5000 square foot facility without much issue. pi x40x40 = 5024 square feet. Which would be a 40 foot radius, 80 foot diameter. The coverage beneath the AP will suffer in the ceiling, however, should appropriately expand as long as there is not reflective surface making the signal unfavorable.

-Tom

-Tom Please mark answered for helpful posts http://blogs.cisco.com/smallbusiness/

View solution in original post

It is literally a peanut shape. So the answer, it is spherical. The antenna facing up will radiate vertical such as my terrible paint drawing.

The logical way to put to perspective would be, if the device sets on a table with the antenna setting upward, it is horizontal with a growing ends of a peanut pattern.