cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS setup on SGE2010 to support VoIP trunks between PBXs

jroot
Level 1
Level 1

Folks, I'm stumped on how to configure QoS on my SGE2010 to support my Toshiba CIX PBX VoIP trunks.  The infrastructure is straight forward:

PBX(1)<==>SGE2010(1)<==>SGE2010(2)<==>SGE2010(3)<==>PBX(2)

where PBX(1) and PBX(2) are connected through three SGE2010's that are trunked via fiber between buildings.  I don't have VoIP handsets and the PBX's are on their own VLAN.  Everything else has been a breeze in these switches but I have no experience with QoS and the admin guide doesn't help.

Jim

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Tom Watts
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Jim,

The Basic QoS feature should be all you need for the switch. The QoS works for ingress traffic only. Basic QoS behavior dictates, if you have upstream QoS assigned, the switch will trust the values as is. If there is no QoS upstream, the ingress traffic will be marked based on how the traffic is classified. Any traffic egress of the switchport will not be remarked.

On a flat network, 1 vlan, the default CoS value 0 which is relevant for untagged packets. You may modify these values 1-7 for untagged traffic. Reference the CoS tables to know the values 1 through 7 mean.

The strict priority for the QoS queue will depend on how the traffic is marked. With strict priority, the highest value traffic will be allocated first on the egress port. So you should leave this alone.

The part that most have problems with, the DSCP values. These are defined on the DSCP to queue. You will notice a queue next to a DSCP mark. This traffic is classified on what the packet contains. Voice traffic is generally DSCP 46, which by default is marked with a higher queue, I believe 3 by default. The switch will affix the DSCP value for the ingress traffic or trust the ingress mark. But it will not remark egress traffic.

I hope this somewhat clarifies your inquiry.

-Tom
Please rate helpful posts