Views
Helpful
Replies

What is a Peripheral Gateway (PG)

happyatuni
Level 1
Level 1

Dear NetPro gurus,

I have used UCCX for a number of years but I am a newbie on UCCE.

What is a Peripheral Gateway (PG)? I have read a number of CCO documents but i still couldn't grab the idea of what it does.  Some documents called it Agent PG, some called VRU PG, some called CM PG & another one called IVR PG?

So what is PG?

Would greatly appreciated if anyone can shed some light on this.

Cheers,

Hunt

7 Replies 7

Chris Deren
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hunt,

You are on the right track, PG by definition is:

Interfaces to various ‗peripheral‘ devices, specifically to Unified CM, VRU (Unified IP IVR or Unified CVP), or Multichannel products (EIM and WIM for email and chat). The PG includes one or more Peripheral Interface Managers (PIMs) for the specific device interfaces.

Think about at as a bridge to other apps, when Geotel design ICM the idea was that it will integrate to various vendors, i.e. Avaya, Aspect, Rockwell, etc.  CUCM is one possible integration, so when ICM is integrated with CUCM the solution is called UCCE.  PGs are there to integrate CUCM for example to ICM central controllers, it is there to also integrate IVR solution such as CVP, you can share the same physical PG for multiple integrations with some limitations as described in SRND.  So CUCM PG would be considered agent PG and CVP would be VRU PG (separate PIMs).

If you have not read the SRND yet, it would be an excellent idea is it describes UCCE different architectures in details, here is the link:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cust_contact/contact_center/ipcc_enterprise/ippcenterprise9_0_1/design/guide/ucce_srnd_9.x.pdf

HTH, please rate all useful posts!

Chris

Thanks so much for your explanation Chris.