Views
Helpful
Replies

LDAP Configuration with WLAN Controller 5508

jawedparkar
Level 1
Level 1

Dear Friends;

We have 5508 controller (redundant) & would like to configure Staff vlan to get authenticate with active directory.i am new to the controller device & want to configure controller with active directory (windows 2012).

Please share the documents, steps or your ideas for the below scenario.

5508 controller (Active & Standby) with 48 Access Point.(configuration Done)

Guest Vlan (only for internet Access) controller based web authentication configured.

Staff Vlan   ( inside & outside ). Need to configure with LDAP authentication??

Thanks

9 Replies 9

David Watkins
Level 4
Level 4

You will likely want to avoid LDAP authentication for backend lookup with Local EAP due to EAP method limitations.

The LDAP backend database supports these Local EAP methods:

• EAP-FAST/GTC

• EAP-TLS

• PEAPv1/GTC.

- http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6366/products_configuration_example09186a008093f1b9.shtml

Unless you're using EAP-TLS, windows clients will be out of luck if using the native supplicant.

You should consider configuring NPS on your MS 2012 server so you can choose PEAP/MSchapv2 or EAP-TLS and authenticating to it as a RADIUS server rather than LDAP.

LDAP gets messy for use with Local EAP as it is very basic in functionality.  You will not be able to offer lookups to various OUs etc; everything will be bound to a "single" container.

johncaston_2
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

The normal approach to authenticate users against AD is to configure a RADIUS server, I normally use the IAS (Win2k3) or NPS (Win2K8) service on the Windows Server to do this, then you can select the conditions that you want to authenticate against, e.g. Windows security groups, SSID, etc

On the WLC you just need to specify the RADIUS server under the Security tab and under the WLAN, select 802.1X as the authentication type and pick the RADIUS server under the AAA tab