Views
Helpful
Replies

Difficulty visualizing the following:

Morpheo2002
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

This will make some of you laugh I am sure, but I just started learning and have the following questions:

PC1 (168.1.1.1) wants to send to another PC2 (165.1.1.1).

PC1 sends frame to router, router 1 decapsulates frame, makes new frame, sends to router 2 etc, until finally a router N can directly send to PC2.

Assume there are somewhere in the world other PC 3/4/5 with the same PC2 ip address (165.1.1.1), how does any one router know  which one of these is PC2. Somewhere I think MAC address has to be in the frame data otherwise but this is up to you guys to confirm or not.

Secondly, I understand routers send addres tables to neighbouring routers, and they again send that data to the next. However I have difficulty believing that my router ( at home for example) has all Ip addres data there is in the world. What do i not see?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Jurgen,

Don't worry about us laughing - these are some very serious questions and there is absolutely no reason to laugh at anything.

Assume there are somewhere in the world other PC 3/4/5 with the same PC2 ip address (165.1.1.1),

If there is another PC2 somewhere in the world that shares the IP address 165.1.1.1 with another PC2 then the IP address 165.1.1.1 is not unique because it does not belong to a single station anymore. This would be an incorrect configuration because IP addresses are required to be globally unique.

how does any one router know  which one of these is PC2.