Views
Helpful
Replies

VRF import/export single host/address via MP-BGP

Mohammed Islam
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,

Excuse my ignorance, but I am pretty new to MP-BGP and VRF technology.

My question is very simple, I am attempting to import a single host address from one VRF into another via MP-BGP.

I understand route-maps are used for granular filtering, however I have tried this using standard ACL, extended ACL and prefix list and it does not seems to work.  However when I try importing/exporting the whole subnet the communication works as expected from one VRF into the other.  Am I missing a trick?!  Sample configs can be posted if required but is there a restriction in how BGP imports/exports?

Your help is very much appreciated.

8 Replies 8

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Mohammed,

When you try to import a single host address, is that host address present as a standalone /32 route in the source VRF? To my best knowledge, you can only import entire routing table entries, not their parts or subnets. If the host address you are trying to import is not present as a routing table entry in the source VRF then I do not believe you can import it.

Best regards,

Peter

Harold Ritter
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Mohammed,

The import map is used to further refine the filtering of prefixes that have already been imported into a VRF, therefore it will only work if the route has already been imported using the "route-target import" statement under the specific VRF.

Regards

Harold Ritter
Sr Technical Leader
CCIE 4168 (R&S, SP)
harold@cisco.com
México móvil: +52 1 55 8312 4915
Cisco México
Paseo de la Reforma 222
Piso 19
Cuauhtémoc, Juárez
Ciudad de México, 06600
México

Thanks for the speedy responses!