cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need some help getting started with Mobility Services Engine

spfister336
Level 2
Level 2

Someone has ordered several 3602 access points, a 5508 controller, and a MSE 3310 for one of our remote locations. The access points and controller are in place and are working fine (we use lightweight APs at many other locations), but I'm not sure how to approach the MSE. I've gone through the set up, and it's onsite, on the network, and I've added it to our WCS server. It's got a 2000 user context-aware services license. But I'm not sure where to go from here. It doesn't seem to actually be doing much of anything. Is there some quick start guide as to where to go from this point? The wireless users are mostly mini netbooks and iPads.

7 Replies 7

David Ritter
Level 4
Level 4

Well, I'm no expert, but I did spend the night...

Ok.  In the WCS on the Services tab, Mobility Services, your MSE is recognized and reachable with matching SW Versions.

So, on the home tab, ContextAware tab, you see your MSE and it is showing Zero's  for data in most if not all fields?

Back to the Services tab, Synchronize Services...  is this empty?

The MSE can only 'SEE' what you tell it to 'LOOK' at.  That is, buildings and floor areas.  I haven't tried just a building.

Check the left hand box for all the floor areas of interest.  Scroll to the bottom an slect 'Change MSE Assignment"

select which (of the many or the one) MSE you wish to have monitor the area.  Check the 'CAS' box and save.

Up on the upper levt is a Synchronization block..  push the Synchronize button and sit back..

All MSE data is presented only to the WCS (or Pi).

Good Luck

David

David Ritter
Level 4
Level 4

PS..  don't feel bad.  I had to open a TAC  because I upgraded my MSE ver to the newest, before realizing it could not exceed that of the WCS and had to downgrade it..  garbled a file.