Views
Helpful
Replies

Implementing HSRP in a multi-VRF environment

richardkoudry
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Folks,

I am new to VRF Lite but have recently implemented multiple VRFs on a single CPE (Customer Premises Equipment) router.

I have also implemented a two-CPE redundancy using Cisco HSRP protocol but with a single VRF.

Now, I would like to expand my design by using HSRP with multiple VRFs. The problem here isn't the VRF implementation, but how to implement HSRP with multiple VRFs.  The scope of this query is on the Customer Premises Equipment (CPE).

Thanks.

Gbehode

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Just playing devil advocate, but if the  scenario is to use the same LAN subnet for for multiple VRFs, will it be  technically possible to use the same HSRP VIP for the various HSRP  groups under different VRFs?

As a given IP subnet can (locally) only belong to exactly one VRF (or the global context), those subnets have to be distinguished somehow on common links, e.g. by VLAN-tags on trunk links. The (non-default VLAN) HSRP messages then are tagged too, so their membership is clear, even if you use the same IP addresses multiple times (in different VRFs).

HTH

Rolf

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Rolf Fischer
Level 9
Level 9

Hi,

I'm not sure if I understand the question correctly.

When using differnt VRFs, the only difference in the configuration is that the layer-3 interfaces have to be assigned to the corresponing VRF. The scope of the HSRP hellos is the local subnet, so the hellos will be assigned to the VRF of the receiving (sub-)interface/SVI. For the sake of consitency you could use different HSRP groups (affect the virtual MAC address).

An example:

CE1:

interface FastEthernet0/0

! global routing context

ip address 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0

standby 1 ip 192.168.1.1

standby 1 preempt

!

interface FastEthernet0/0.2

encapsulation dot1Q 2

ip vrf forwarding VRF-2

ip address 192.168.2.2 255.255.255.0

standby 2 ip 192.168.2.1