Warning message

• Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.
  • Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.

Unable to transfer file to WCS 5508 - Code file transfer failed - Unknown error - refer to log

Answered Question
Mar 6th, 2014
User Badges:

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting in here. I am having some trouble transferring files to my 5508 WCS. My intent is to upgrade them from

6.0.196.0 to 7.4. We recently purchased 2602i access points and we need to upgrade our controller software in order for the controller to register the new access points. I also just upgraded the WCS controller interface software to 7.0.240.

However, I have not been successfull transfering the file to the controller for the upgrade.

I have tried everything I know of:

*transferring the file from different TFTP server programs including tftp32d and solarwinds

* transferring the file from different FTP server applications like FileZilla and FTPD

* transferring the file from WCS web interface

* running a direct connection to the WLC with a static IP on the interface

* verified that there are no firewalls interferring with the transfer

* adjusted timeouts and buffers accordingly

I don't receive any error messages on any of my FTP or TFTP software, that would indicate something being wrong with the applications. I'm thinking this is a bug with the controller.

The transfer reachers about 97MB before it fails.

Here is the error messages I am receiving when I run "debug transfer output all" from the CLI of the controller

I feel like I am overlooking something...

################################debug transfer all output##############################

* Failed writing body

* Received only partial file: 97086398 bytes

*Mar 06 23:55:26.248: ftp operation returns 23

*Mar 06 23:55:26.253: tftp = 4, file_name=/AIR-CT5500-K9.aes, ip_address=10.5.1.18,

msg=Unknown error - refer to log