Views
Helpful
Replies

EEM / IP SLA to shutdown lossy high RTT BGP neighbor

Michael Marzol
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the IP SLA procedure and very new to EEM. I'm searching for the most efficient way to monitor the availability (packet loss and latency) of a BGP neighbor from a router to actively shutdown the neighbor relationship in order to failover to a back up L2L VPN I have configured on an ASA. It's important that I'm able to continue monitoring the BGP neighbor so that when the neighbor becomes stable again, I can reenable the BGP neighbor relationship. I've put something quick together (below) but am not sure if it will do what I want. I'd appreciate any suggestions and feedback.

Thank you!

-Mike

ip sla 90
 icmp-echo <neighbor_ip> source-ip <source_ip>
 threshold 250
 timeout 500
 frequency 3
ip sla schedule 90 life forever start-time now
ip sla enable reaction-alerts
!
track 90 ip sla 90 reachability
  delay down 3 up 180
!
!
!
event manager applet BGP_NEIGHBOR_DIRTY
 description SHUT DOWN BGP NEIGHBOR IF RTT OVER 250 FOR 3 SECONDS
 event syslog pattern "90 ip sla 90 reachability Up->Down"
 action 1.0  cli command "enable"
 action 1.1  cli command "configure term"
 action 1.2  cli command "router bgp 63320"
 action 1.3  cli command "neighbor <neighbor_ip> shutdown"
 action 1.4  cli command "end"

event manager applet BGP_NEIGHBOR_CLEAN
 description ENABLE BGP NEIGHBOR IF RTT UNDER 250 FOR 3 MINUTES
 event syslog pattern "90 ip sla 90 reachability Down->Up"
 action 1.0  cli command "enable"
 action 1.1  cli command "configure term"
 action 1.2  cli command "router bgp 63320"
 action 1.3  cli command "no neighbor <neighbor_ip> shutdown"
 action 1.4  cli command "end"
!

9 Replies 9

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

This should do what you want.

Thanks for the confirmation, Joseph. I have a maintenance window for testing scheduled for Friday night. I'll post the results once testing is complete.

Thanks again,

Mike

etijburg