Views
Helpful
Replies

Attaching a DSL router service to a Cisco 3560

Areyouserious
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone.

Ive been working on a bit of a side experiment at home while im studying as im quite keen to study cisco.

Ive learnt a little bit of cisco at my collage but my full study on Cisco CCNA doesn’t start for several weeks yet.

I'm trying to create 2 vlans and isolate them for security purposes so that one cannot access the other, as one of the vlan's will have computers connected to it that contain sensitive information. The other, will be a wifi system that enables people to connect to it so that they can use the internet.

I’m thinking of using a a cisco 3560 layer 3 switch.

The 3560 needs to be connected to an existing DSL modem router, and the whole point of this system is so that I can share the one internet connection between two vlans, but prevent people using the wifi system accessing the other vlan that has sensitive data on it.

Ive been at this for several days now I cant work it out. Ive been trying to work it out in Cisco packet tracer first before purchasing the equipment.

I cant seem to work out the last little bit where you can configure the switch to route internet traffic to the port that the DSL Modem router is connected to. 

Im using another generic router in packet tracer to simulate a DSL modem router as packet tracer doesn’t really have dsl modems with a router inside.  As mentioned I have an existing dsl modem router I wish to use on this experiment.

Ive tried to create some Vlans, and add a the vlans internal router ip  by using the commands,

For example:

Vlan 2

Int range fa0/2

Name adsl

Exit

Int vlan 2

Ip address 192.168.2.1 255.255.255.0

Ive been also enabling DHCP to work for the Wifi and the computer network – which has been working ok.

Heres a show run:

Switch>

Switch>en

Switch#show run

Building configuration...

Current configuration : 1440 bytes

!

version 12.2

no service timestamps log datetime msec