×

Warning message

  • Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.
  • Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.

Problem to receive or make calls to or from different domains

Answered Question
Jun 17th, 2014
User Badges:

Hello, 

  I have a VCS Control and VCS Expressway, calls between registered devices including working properly. 

  The problem when I want to call cisco example, do not know what settings should I add to be able to call someone who is not my domain or they can call me. 

  There have been events cisco where you can enter via telepresence and I could not do me the following message: 

Not registered - Destination not found

Correct Answer by Patrick Sparkman about 3 years 2 months ago

I suspect it's a configuration problem, where, I don't know.  We'll need some more information to be able to help find the issue.

  1. Are you able to contact others outside of your network, that isn't Cisco?
  2. Do you have a DNS zone configured on your VCS Expressway, and a search rule pointing to it?
  3. Are you able to see your call attempt in the Expressway search history?  If so, can you share it with us?
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Loading.
Correct Answer
Patrick Sparkman Tue, 06/17/2014 - 13:31
User Badges:
  • Purple, 4500 points or more
  • Cisco Designated VIP,

    2017 TelePresence

I suspect it's a configuration problem, where, I don't know.  We'll need some more information to be able to help find the issue.

  1. Are you able to contact others outside of your network, that isn't Cisco?
  2. Do you have a DNS zone configured on your VCS Expressway, and a search rule pointing to it?
  3. Are you able to see your call attempt in the Expressway search history?  If so, can you share it with us?
Vianyfel Cordaro Tue, 06/17/2014 - 13:48
User Badges:

I have not tried with other domains and not have anyone to try, I've only tested calls between registered with the VCS-E and VCS-C devices and  it works ... but I get calls because sometimes I have missed calls of numbers I know. 

I attached you what you ask me.

 

Patrick Sparkman Wed, 06/18/2014 - 06:43
User Badges:
  • Purple, 4500 points or more
  • Cisco Designated VIP,

    2017 TelePresence

I just tried the Cisco address you had in your search history and was able to connect to there TelePresence Server.

Because the search history shows "Reason: Resolution failed" under your DNS zone, I'd suspect it's an issue with your DNS settings as it's not finding the called domains.  Can you confirm that the DNS settings are correct?

Vianyfel Cordaro Wed, 06/18/2014 - 09:02
User Badges:

Hi I change the IP address of the DNS because there had been a mistake but now following error appear in  the search rule

 

Patrick Sparkman Wed, 06/18/2014 - 09:18
User Badges:
  • Purple, 4500 points or more
  • Cisco Designated VIP,

    2017 TelePresence

Does the call go through?  I see that it found it, resulting in a good search, noted by "Found: True".

Which particular error in the search history are you wanting to know about?

 

Something else that might be a factor:

Where is your endpoint registered to, Control or Expressway?

What is interworking on the Expressway set to (Configuration > Protocols > Interworking)?

Vianyfel Cordaro Wed, 06/18/2014 - 09:31
User Badges:

OK, the endpoint its register on VCS-Expressway

 

Interworking was set to Only registered and change it to ON. 

The output of the search now is :

 

Search details
You are here: Status Search history Search details
Displaying 1 search for this Search ID
Vianyfel Cordaro Wed, 06/18/2014 - 09:19
User Badges:

when I try to make the call using SIP, the search history displays the following:

 

Vianyfel Cordaro Wed, 06/18/2014 - 13:27
User Badges:

OK, I tried to the address you provided me and if it works now! Thank you for your help!smiley

Actions

This Discussion