New to Cisco - 2504 installation what do i need

Unanswered Question
Sep 1st, 2014
User Badges:

Hi, I'm now to Cisco hardware but have been involved in WiFi installations for a while now.

I have been asked to install a test WiFi network based on a Cisco 2504 controller. The project is for a specific solution which requires this hardware to work but I have no prior experience.

I know I need a 2504 controller and 12 Access Points, looking at the Cisco website I either want to have 1600 or 2700 series AP's. The network will need to support around 500 concurrent connections at any one time.

Looking at the options for the controller there seems to be various licence options hence my question. Can someone please let me know what it is i'm going to need to get this working.

For the controller I am looking at the 15 AP licence model

What are IOS licences? do I need them?

AP will be either controller based 1600 or 2700 series, I was thinking of 2700 series as they support HDX... do I need HDX?

Do I need anything else for the AP to work... I presume they are POE?

Software licences... there seems to be no reference to warranties with Cisco kit... do I need to buy something extra

Do any of these licences need annually renewing or once you have it it's yours for ever?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Scott Fella Mon, 09/01/2014 - 14:05
User Badges:
  • Super Silver, 17500 points or more
  • Hall of Fame,

The Hall of Fame designation is a lifetime achievement award based on significant overall achievements in the community. 

• Cisco Designated VIP,

2017 Wireless

You should speak with your local Cisco SE or a Cisco partner, so they can tell you exactly what you need. That is the best way not to miss something or tell you what to purchase that might not work for you.