cancel
Showing results forĀ 
Search instead forĀ 
Did you mean:Ā 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Redistribution ( ospf, rip , eigrp , static )

elgharbaouy
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone!

I'm a trainee in networks, and i had an exercice of routing protocols and a static route OSPF, EIGRP , RIP, et Static. (I tried to do the redistribution between the LANs but it doesn't work for me, my ping command fails ), i tried to look for some usefull commands on google but i didn't find a solution.

I need your help please, i want to have a solution with commands on each router.

I'm using  Packet Tracer version 6.1.1 student.

this is my PKT workhttps://docs.google.com/file/d/0B1_v47dz4SKFRDU1SlZQMTZtMGs

and this is a screenshot https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1_v47dz4SKFNVdPRVA5SzdwZzg

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Your distribution points are the routers that will run multiple protocols. From this it looks like the routers in the middle (can't see their names) are your redistribution points. I won't tell you the answer completely, but let's use the EIGRP network. On the router that's running eigrp 200 and ospf 10, you'll do dual redistribution:

router eigrp 200

redistribute ospf 1 metric 1 1 1 1 1

router ospf 1

redistribute eigrp 200 subnets

The router will share the eigrp learned routes with the ospf routers in area 20. You'll do this on the other two routers with redistributing between the appropriate protocols. After this, you'll be able to ping everywhere...

Unless I'm missing something, you can have a single ospf area that is not area 0 and still have it work. Once you have more than one area, you're required to have an area 0 in order for routes to travel across the backbone. In other words, if you have this area 20 (which is the only one I see at the moment), and you add an area 40 later, you won't be able to get routes from area 40 to 20 without an area 0...does that make sense?

HTH,

John