Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 6504-E Switch question

lili Vachon
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

TIll now I have worked with 2960-X series switches. I am new to 6500 Series switches. As we are upgrading the network. My company is looking for a switch which supports  16 SFP+ ports and 10 Gigabit speed per each Ethernet port.  We are building a core switch and I was checking the Cisco models and found out that 6504-E switch is a good choice according to our requirements. But I have following questions. I request you to please answer it:  

1. Cisco Catalyst 6504-E Switch is just a body and comes with 4 slots with no modules installed. Is that correct?

2. Cisco Catalyst 6504-E Switch need to be installed with "WS-X6908-10G-2TXL" Part number module for Fiber connectivity SFP+ uplink?

3. For 48 Port Gigabit Ethernet with POE support which module is supported? Each Gigabit ethernet port should support speed till 10 GBPS.

4. Does it support application visibility and Control?

5. Does it support routing between two separate VLANs without the need of Router?

6. Each module do we have separate console port or one module with Console port in enough in order to configure all the modules? Basically how does it work?

Please answer to my above queries. Thank you.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Disclaimer

The Author of this posting offers the information contained within this posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose. Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer