cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New to Network - Is this topology and understanding correct ? (please help)

SJ K
Level 5
Level 5

Hi all,

I am new to network and is currently taking my ICDN1 course, but have no actual hands-on experience beside the short labs lesson in class..

Hence, I will like to take this opportunity to check with gurus here for their advices and to see if my understanding is correct or wrong.

Please pardon me if I ask/make any silly questions or wrong theories.

=========================================================

Refer to below diagram (which I drawn)

mydrawing

Assumptions

Node 1 and Node 2 need to have public IPs assigned by ISP.
Internal and mangement network not reflected Security not a concern, NAT/DMZ not required
Firewall and Router are 2 separate physical device

Questions

Q1) is my toplogy and IPs assignment correct base on the assumption above ?

Q2) do we need to assign IPs to Fe0/0 for both firewall and MyRouter ? Must it be using the ISP issued IPs or can it be internal IPs ?

Q3) Can we consider MyRouter Fe0/0 and below = 1 broadcast domain/network segment or
MyRouter Fe0/0 to Fe0/0 firewall = 1 network segment and Firewall Fe0/1 and below = another network segment ? and why ?

I am thinking of how does a IP packet transfer from node1 to the internet. Let's say node1 send a packet to 8.8.8.8

[src ip=202.156.1.4][dst ip=8.8.8.8][src mac=a.b.c.d][dst mac=a.b.c.f] (packet going from Node1 to the gateway/firewall)
[src ip=202.156.1.4][dst ip=8.8.8.8][src mac=a.b.c.g][dst mac=a.b.c.h] (packet going from the Firewall to the MyRouter)

Q4) How does firewall know which interface it must exit on the next hop ?
Is there a routing table in Firewall ? Does the Firewall has a default gateway , or it has a default route ?