cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

connnecting to 2960s management interface fa0

Clay Plaga
Level 3
Level 3

I've found some information that may answer some of my question. When I do an initial configuration on a switch, I use the console cable. When doing this initial configuration, I want to configure the management interface fa0 as an in band management port on vlan 2.

I am doing a basic configuration on a Cisco 2960s switch. I have given the switch an administrative IP address of 192.168.0.149. I'm using interface gi1/0/1 as an in band management port on vlan1and it's working. I tried connecting the cat 6 cable from gi1/0/1 to the dedicated management port fa0, but I was not able to log into the switch with putty. I want to change the management interface to the dedicated management port, interface fa0. I am new to the Cisco CLI. Can someone show me how to do this, and what CLI commands I need to use to make this configuration change.

Thank You.

6 Replies 6

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

If you have access to the switch via console configure the out-of-band management port (fa0) with an IP address and than connect this port to your PC/laptop and put your laptop/PC in the same subnet and test connectivity.

config t

interface fa0

ip add 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0

no sh

give ip address 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0 to your laptop and now test via putty.

HTH

Thank you for the help. This is what I need to do. I have the management interface set to vlan 1(default), on gi1/01. I need to move the management interface to the dedicated management interface (fa0).

I have 2 questions:

1. Do I need to put the dedicated management interface(fa0) on a vlan?

2.I have the administrative  management ip address and default gateway on vlan 1, do I have to move the ip address and default gateway to the new vlan which will be vlan 99?

Thank You

1. Do I need to put the dedicated management interface(fa0) on a vlan?