cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Request assistance from the brain trust, local, personal training network setup

frankstein239b
Level 1
Level 1

I left an earlier post re: C2513s I had purchased to start working on certification.

Given the age of the 2500s, plus the fact that when I get my geek on I tend to go full

bore, I made a few other acquisitions. I now have 3xC1841 routers, 1xC2851 router,

1xC2821 router, the original 2x2513 routers, and 4x2950-24s, as well as a couple 8-port

serial over IP devices for management (OK fine, I'm too lazy to keep walking downstairs

from my office if I want to work on them).

My question is, what's a good setup, given the hardware, for a multiple lan or wan training

system? It's been quite a few years since I worked with routing, but I used to be pretty good.

Of course now I'm back to complete novice since I haven't used it for so long. I have quite a

few technical skills in other fields, but I freely admit that I've forgotten most of what I learned.

While I can remember some basic commands, I couldn't even begin to design a good router/switch

WAN configuration anymore.

SOO. I'm hoping someone,out of the kindness of their heart, and possibly due to also

being a hardware geek, would be willing to help plan the config for these. I'll be attending training

in about 2 months but I can't bear to let this hardware sit, and I also don't (at this point) have time

for weeks of "Ask Professor Google", especially since most of the answers Ive found on other

sites appear to be deliberately malicious or posted by people who know even less than i do. 

Any constructive assistance would be welcome. Please, don't just say RTFM. I know as well as

anyone else the value of learning on your own, but I need a good training platform now so I can get

ready for the course/cert. Thanks in advance.

28 Replies 28

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

With that amount of kit you could set it up in any number of ways.