cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VHT Features on WAP371

southerndoc
Level 1
Level 1

Can you anyone tell me what the VHT features do on the WAP371? (on the wireless page to set an SSID)

6 Replies 6

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

My name Eric Moyers. I am an Engineer in the Small Business Support Center.

That is a great question. 

The technical answer would be: (From Help within the WAP)

The purpose of this feature is to enabled/disable Broadcom specific extensions in VHT for Broadcom-to-Broadcom links. VHT feature enables support for 256QAM VHT rates not specified by the 802.11 ac Draft. The rates are all VHT LDPC mode, MCS 9 Nss 1 20Mhz, MCS 9 Nss 2 20Mhz, MCS 6 Nss 3 80Mhz. The VHT feature is supported for 802.11 ac PHY.

What that actually means is: VHT = Very High Throughput

802.11ac introduces a new operating mode: Very High Throughput (VHT). Unlike 802.11n which supported three operating modes, 802.11ac only needs to support VHT. This is because by definition, VHT is mixed; it supports 802.11a and 802.11n clients in the 5GHz band. 

So, how would you use this? For Radio 1 (5 GHz) I would enable it. For the Radio 2 (2.4 GHz) I would leave disabled.

Eric Moyers

.:|:.:|:. CISCO | Cisco Presales Technical Support | Wireless Subject Matter Expert

Please rate helpful Posts and Let others know when your Question has been answered.

What about enabling short guard interval support and frame-burst support?

I currently have SGIS enabled and frame-burst disabled.  I have multiple 802.11ac that may connect to an individual WAP, and I believe I read in the help section that more than 3 devices connected to the WAP may actually degrade throughput.

I'm trying to get the most speed possible.  Right now when I go to speedtest.net with a wireless device, it starts out at 250-290 Mbps then goes down to 180-220 Mbps and fluctuates.  I wish I could get it to maintain 250-290 consistently.

Any tips for optimal settings for 5GHz band for the best speed?