Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

S2S VPN and DNS NAT

I have researched and while I am not an expert, I can't find a solution, so I'm looking for some guidance.  Attached is a rough network diagram of what I am working with.  

If I am sitting in Site A and I query external DNS for "server.domain.com", the ASA rewrites the response back to me because of NAT.  Same for Site B and server.domain2.com, etc.  And it does make sense, if I am in Site C and I query for "server.domain.com" I should expect to receive the public Internet IP since the ASA I am behind is not doing the NAT for that subnet.  But, is it possible to actually do that, so if I am behind any of the ASA's, and I query for a DNS record on that publicly resolve to any of the NAT subnets, could I get back the real server address over the Site to Site ?

I look forward to the discussion, and thank you in advance for any help.

Joseph

4 Replies 4

Florin Barhala
Level 6
Level 6

Interesting question. So let's see I I got right your question: if you query for a domain and that server is not in the same network you are so that server is not part of site's NAT configuration you still want to receive it's private IP and not the public one, BECAUSE you can access it through a site-to-site VPN?

Can you share your current config in regard to this DNS doctoring that works for you now?

Yeah, that's the scenario.  Reason is we dev and host sites for clients, and 2 of the locations are cages in colos.  Currently we have to manage internal and external DNS for the same domains, and it is just a pain to manage, and sometimes the zones conflict each other because of the IP's.

For the DNS doctoring, I am simply using the DNS attribute of the NAT rules like:

object network pvt_10.0.20.20
 nat (inside,outside) static pub_XX.XXX.XX.XXX dns

and then the traffic inspection

policy-map type inspect dns migrated_dns_map_1
 parameters
  message-length maximum client auto