Views
Helpful
Replies

Route Map vs. Prefix-List vs. Distribution List

kanishka321
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am studying for my CCNP exam. I came across with network filtering. I know that you can use route map, prefix list, or distribute-list to filter networks. Is there any one of them has more advantages over the others? In other words, which technology is the best way to filter network routes? If you can explain it with an example, that will be great! Thank you.

7 Replies 7

milan.kulik
Level 10
Level 10

Hi,

I'd say:

BGP distribute-list syntax is quite confusing.

Prefix-list syntax is easier to understand and more flexible.

But using route-maps is much more flexible and powerful: you can match also other prefix attributes (not only IP addresses) and also to modify them when the route-map is applied!

Best regards,

Milan

Thank you for your response. Is it possible for you give me an example where route maps is more flexible and distribute-list and prefix list is not?

Hi,

here is an example where a route-map is matching AS_PATH and setting the Weight attribute finally:

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/ip/border-gateway-protocol-bgp/26634-bgp-toc.html#neighborsroutemaps

You can't do that with distribute-list nor prefix-list.

Here are more examples (the same document) what can be matched and set by the route-maps:

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/ip/border-gateway-protocol-bgp/26634-bgp-toc.html#matchandset

Best regards,

Milan

distribute and prefix list are often confused.  distribute list is only a command used to call an ACL or prefix-list to engineer what is allowed in and out the routing protocol.  route-map also utilized both acl and prefix-list and offers a lot more different match options.  So I personally believe it's best to use route-map over distribute list because of scalability and flexibility.