Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5585-X for Remote Access VPN in Multiple Context Mode

ar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi.

I am new to implementing ASA for remote-access vpn.

I am planning to create two contexts.

One context for Remote access VPN Termination

One context for Firewalling other services in the network.

I came across the documentation that Multiple-context mode does not support some features including VPN.

Can somebody confirm this?

thanks

Unsupported Features

Multiple context mode does not support the following features:

• RIP
  • OSPFv3. (OSPFv2 is supported.)
  • Multicast routing
  • Threat Detection
  • Unified Communications
  • QoS
  • Remote access VPN. (Site-to-site VPN is supported.)

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/asa/asa90/configuration/guide/asa_90_cli_config/ha_contexts.html

4 Replies 4

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

For ASA software version 9.0 that is correct. It cannot be done.

However, remote access VPN support for multiple context ASA was added in ASA software version 9.5(2) ca. November 2015.

See the release notes:

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/asa/asa95/release/notes/asarn95.html#pgfId-155850

...and configuration guide section:

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/asa/asa95/configuration/vpn/asa-95-vpn-config/vpn-anyconnect.html

There are a few caveats at this time:

1. AnyConnect Apex licensing is required.

2. Only client-based AnyConnect is supported. (no clientless SSL VPN)

3. The ASA-based web portal for initial login and AnyConnect detection / installation is not supported. So you have to distribute the AnyConnect client software initially outside of the ASA-based method. You can push updates to AnyConnect clients from the ASA if they already have an earlier version.