Views
Helpful
Replies

8831 Conference Phone - Voice Echo

demerson111
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

Let me preface this problem by stating I am fairly new to UCS (6 months), so if anyone offers solutions to this issue, please use laymen's terms. I'm self-taught, but have a very general idea of how things work in this world.

I have a 8831 conference phone which is experiencing a feedback voice echo on the distant end during the first 10-15 seconds of a call. After the 10 to 15 seconds, the issue is corrected and call quality is otherwise good. This occurs when I use both wired and wireless mics with the base station. I was pretty much resigned to the fact that this is just something that we have to live with, because honestly it is a very short time, and the phone otherwise works perfectly. However, we don't experience this problem on the older model 7937.

Several months back, we suffered an outage which resulted in our network team restoring CUCM from a previous configuration in DRS. This was all done prior to me even being involved with call manager, as eventually the previous administrator got fired, and I just kind of inherited this mess. My point here is that my boss insists that prior to the recovery, this 8831 used the wireless mics and the call quality was perfect and did not experience this 10-15 second initial echo adjustment.

I have already upgraded the firmware to sip8831.10-3-1SR2-2, as recommended by Cisco, and replaced it with a new base station. The initial voice echo on the other end is still present. At this point, I am out of ideas to resolve this issue, so I welcome any suggestions.

We're using CUCM 9.1.2. If anyone needs more information for an assessment, please advise. Thank you!

4 Replies 4

Jaime Valencia
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

A DRS backup/restore has nothing to do with voice issues like echo.

Have you verified the room where the endpoints are is not the one causing the echo??

HTH

java

if this helps, please rate