Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS and BGP

cisco8887
Level 2
Level 2

Hi All,

Is it safe to imagine MPLS is needed with BGP for VRF tags to be carried over from PE routers?

I am studying for my CCIE and my impression was the VRF tags are carried in BGP but now I understand I didn't have it right.

You can't run VRF with BGP only, correct ?

When you run VRF lite with no BGP, how does that work? I have used wireshark and cannot see any tags added to layer 2 or 3.

I therefore made an assumption that the router knows which VRF the client belongs to based on VLAN or the interface it is entering on .

Finally how does MPLS distribute the VPN v4 tags to PE routers?

Thanks

10 Replies 10

Hello cisco8887,

The concept of "Route Tagging" does not exist in BGP as Communities are used instead.

In MPLS L3 VPN scenarios, there are 2 main concepts to use with BGP-VPNv4. Those are Route Distinguisher and Route-Targets.

• Route Distinguishers makes the prefix unique inside the ISP network. That is, a 64-bit value is prepended to a route when iBGP-VPNv4 advertises it. If two or more different customers advertise the same network prefix to the ISP, those prefixes will actually differ inside the ISP network thanks to the Route Distinguisher value set per customer's routes.
  • Those same advertisements carry, in the form of BGP Extended Communities (similar to 'tags') a value officially called "Route-Target", which are also set per customer when PEs receive their routes. Using that value, remote PEs know if those should "import" to the customer's VRF the network prefix or not.

I hope this helps.

Best Regards.

Sure thanks for this

What confuses me is the RT and RD are sent as extended community attributes so where does MPLS come in ?

If BGP is sending RT by prepending a 64bit value then when is this used?

When you ping it is using MPLS and MPLS has VPN V label for those VRF.

My questions is where is the link between these and how does VRF get mapped to a MPLS Label.