Views
Helpful
Replies

DHCP issue with VLANS

Sean Hebein
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have a stack of SG500 switches that are currently in L3 mode and I am using at the default gateway for my networks. The IP to this switch stack is 10.20.30.254 VLAN1, 10.20.40.254 VLAN40, 10.10.10.254 VLAN10. I am also running Server 2012 R2 as my DHCP server and I have scopes setup for each of these VLANs. 

On the switch I have relay turned on, 10.10.10.10 added to the DHCP servers list and I have added each VLAN interface into the "interface" section.

All was going well until about 3 weeks ago when on Monday mornings, the DHCP leases would expire and couldn't get a new lease. Rebooting the switch would fix it temporarily until the next time the leases expire and then it was a fire drill all over again.

I have been using this setup for about 2 years now and I haven't had any issues with it until a few weeks ago. I have a couple of LAGs setup on the switch for my server. This is where I think the configuration might be a little messed up. I have the LAGs untagged VLAN10 and tagged VLANs for 1 and 40. The switchports are setup as trunks so not sure if somehow this is affecting how things are flowing. Wanted to get some advise before I just start changing the config.

Thanks in advance!

Sean

4 Replies 4

Lee Cox
Level 2
Level 2

On trunked ports only the default VLAN will pass untagged traffic.  Years ago when I was working I always setup the server ports as access ports LAG or not.  I like keeping all the VLAN traffic managed by the Cisco hardware but this is not a requirement.

If your network has been running for 2 years then I would look for what has changed in the last 2 weeks.  Something must of changed to make it stop working.

Got a little bit of an update: