cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Frame relay

stevent
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to frame relay, how would i check to see what is causing packets to drop occassionally.

Also i am running an accounting program that goes over the frame relay connection and it is rather slow. Would traffic shaping help solve that problem?

4 Replies 4

dagreer
Level 1
Level 1

The first thing you need to do is login to all routers under enable mode and do a "SHOW INT S" followed by the appropriate sub-interfaces.

You should also do a "SHOW FRAME PVC". Post those to the list, I would bet that your frame-relay is overloaded.

Also, it may not hurt to do a SHOW FRAME LMI command and make sure that your Enq Sent and Msgs Recvd are in close agreement otherwise you have big problems.

Trafficshaping will help if your frame is marginal but if you are really overloaded you need to look at your configs and at possibly increasing your PVC's.

tom
Level 1
Level 1

You may want to check on your CIR (Committed Information Rate)from your frame provider. Some providers like to sell 0 CIR insisting their network is over engineered. You should have some fraction of your line speed as your CIR. Anything above your CIR is tagged as eligble for dropping should their frame network become congested. Your link may look fine but theirs upstream may not and if you have a 0 CIR every one of your packets could be dropped. Issue show frame-relay pvc and you will see if you are getting FECN or BECN packets which are congestion controll packets which may give you some insight. Hope that helps.

Tom

chrism
Level 1
Level 1

hie