cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP ? Three Leased Lines and PIX ? Three PIXs ?

iyer
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I have three leased lines to the Internet and just bought a PIX 515UR. The vendor told me that one PIX unit would be enough to handle all three lines (each with different IP addresses) and supplied me a PIX with three Ethernet interfaces.

Now, he tells me that for ONE PIX to handle three different IPs, I'll have to get an AS number, run BGP on my Cisco 2501s. And that the 2500 is not good enough to run BGP - and to get more powerful routers.

Or buy two more PIXs.

I'm a newbie - please help me with how I should solve this one.

Thanks a million

Regards

Iyer

13 Replies 13

millerv
Level 1
Level 1

I take it the three leased lines are new also?

According to a friend of mine (@Cisco) if you have

more than one route to the internet, you do need to

run BGP. With at least one full internet routing table.

Have you spoken with your ISP ?

Talking to my ISP will take 2 years - if I can find somebody who knows anything (There are people - they are just impossible to find)

Is the other option - three PIX units - one per leased line the only way ?

Thanks

Regards

Iyer

Its simpler. Unless you can get with a Cisco engineer

to discuss. How you going to generate a default route

to the internet ?

alpesh_s
Level 1
Level 1

You can have your own private AS number also. Do you have these three Leased Lines from the same ISPs? If yes, then you can manage with the same PIX firewall.

j.psaila
Level 1
Level 1

I your feeds are from the same ISP, and depending on your traffic path policy you may not need BGP.

However if you need to direct certian traffic over certsain links then BGP is necessary.

A 2501 may suffice for BGP all depends on your routing policies you instigate.