Views
Helpful
Replies

SNASW and DLSW on the same router

jsyed
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I have recently moved DLSW+ and SANSw configuration from our wan routers to 7206 dlur routers. Before our wan router were doing wan aggregation along with dlsw and snasw .

Now 7206 routers are only doing dlsw/snasw and WAN routers are only doing wan aggregation for our network.

I am pretty new to IBM networking and like to know what is the advantage and disadvantage of running dlsw/snasw on the same router. We are also planning to move to TN3270 so I think it will be good to have wan router also do snasw and 7206 will only do dlsw+.

Also, how sansw is forwarding papcket to upstrream CIP router which is connected to host via escon. Does packet get encapsulated at 7206 or 7513 CIP routers. Basicclay i need to know how dlsw/snasw traffic is getting encapsulated and where it does get deenvcapsulated.

Any help will be appreciated.

If you need more information please feel free to ask.

Javed

7 Replies 7

htranphu
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Please refer to this excellent white paper about DLSW+/SNASw deploiement:

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/cc/pd/ibsw/ibdlsw/tech/dlsw_wp.htm

This is part of a series of documents on SNASw:

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/cc/pd/ibsw/snasw/tech/

In a nutshell, SNASw talks APPN to the host. DLSW+ and SNASw talk one to each other via DLC (if they are on the same router, they interface via VDLC, Virtual DLC).

I hope this helps.

tran

I forgot to mention that you can also set up Enterprise Extender (HPR-IP) between SNASw and the host. Traffic would then be UDP over IP.

tran

Hi Tran,

Thanks for your response and the pointer, but i do have still one questions remaining, where the packet gets encap and decap, is it at CIP rouiter or dlur routers. Also, once we move everyhting to inboard Tn3270 our hardware i mean dlur routers will be useless.Correct ?

javed

There are different levels of encapsulation; I'll respond from the SNASw perspective.