Views
Helpful
Replies

frame relay configuration how to

jhunnex
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

We've just acquired a CISCO 1601 router . My problem is that I'm a little bit intimidated with IOS. I have some experience configuring a router but with another brand of router. Can anyone give some sample configuration of frame relay that I can work with?

By the way, this router will be communicating with another brand of router.

Thanks

7 Replies 7

jeffrey.zhou
Level 1
Level 1

interface se0

enc frame-relay

frame-relay lmi-type cisco/q933a/ansi

frame-relay inrerface-dlci xxx(DLCI number)

--or--

frame-relay map ip x.x.x.x(peer ip address) xxx(DLCI number) broadcast

thanks, but how about adding a default route? how do I add a default route?

thanks.

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 { | }

thanks, i will try these commands .

You should be using IETF encapsulation, rather than Cisco encapsulation for Frame relay. So your encapsulation command should appear as follows.

int s0

encapsulation frame-relay ietf

If you dont specify ietf keyword, encapsulation will default to Cisco, and hence the other brand router, wont be able to communicate with your cisco router.

Sankar Nair
UC Solutions Architect
Pacific Northwest | CDW
CCIE Collaboration #17135 Emeritus

this is what my serial0 looks like:

int se0

ip address 192.168.33.5 255.255.255.0

no ip directed-broadcast

encapsulation frame-relay ietf

frame-relay map ip 192.168.33.1 300 broadcast

frame-relay lmi-type ansi

but when check the status of my serial0 it says that,

Serial is up, line protocol is down .

Did I miss something that caused this message?

I've also run "show frame-relay pvc" it says

pvc status=deleted

so goes with "show frame-relay map"

status=deleted

Thanks

Jhunnex