cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IP IVR voice Prompt audio format

jennyp
Level 1
Level 1

I'm currently writing an IVR Script, and I want to know if it is posible to change the Prompt audio format from CCITT u-law 8 KHz, 8Bit, Mono 7 kb/sec, to another format like GSM 6.10, and still be playable from the IVR.

Or if there are any cisco java classes that I could call from my IVR script to change the audio format of a file from GSM to CCITT u-law? Or a third party tool CLI that could do the trick that you recommend?

15 Replies 15

anand.r
Level 1
Level 1

Adding to Jenny's question, Can i use PCM format instead of CCITT U-law ? cause when i convert my PCM files to CCITT U law the Voice quality gets poorer.

PCM will not fly. Contact me at matthew_weiner@yahoo.com. I may be able to fix it for you.

Hello Mathew,

I read one of your responses on cisco support forum .I am new to cisco uccx. I have installed the basic things. My challenge is on the prompts. I was able to upload them but uccx could not play it.
I used the audacity to record but its not playing it. Could you assist me? I sent you an email but it bounced back

Hi there 

Make sure the prompt files are .wav with the following attributes. You can use any freeware audio editors. I use mostly NCH Audio converter.

• Format: CCIT U-Law
  • Sample Size: 8-bit
  • Sample Rate: 8kHz

Hope this helps!

Cheers
Rath!

***Please rate helpful posts***

Hello,
Thank you for the response . the audio files are in .wav format.if not ,i
would not have uploaded in the first place.i think the uccx is not playing
pcm but cttl u law .can that converter convert the pcm to u law
Collins

You have to manually convert and upload to CCX Prompt Management in the recommended CCITT-ulaw format.

Hope this helps!

Cheers
Rath!

I have saved the audio file as other uncompressed files with the following
options
Header wav(microsoft)
Encoding U-law
Its still not playing

Collins

Hi there